• The Crestiad

Falcons across fall sports bring home an abundance of CSAC awards

Alyssa Knittel

Editor in Chief

Cedar Crest takes pride in their athletes abilities to remain focused on and off the court or field. With Fall sports wrapping up, we are starting to see how the hard work of our Falcons is paying off. Cedar Crest is a part of the Colonial States Athletics Conference (CSAC). 

Volleyball had five of their players recognized in the CSAC End of the Year Awards along with Coach Shelby Morgan. Morgan was selected as Coach of the Year for 2019, this being her second time receiving this honor (first in 2017). 

Kayla Yasso was selected as 2019 Rookie of the Year and is the first Cedar Crest student to be awarded this. Yasso was also named a third-team ALL-CSAC selection. Nicole Hill, Tiffany Hoppes, and Madison Flatt were all Second-Team ALL-CSAC selections. Jannelle Mohney was selected for the All-Sportsmanship Team.  

Field Hockey had seven members of their team recognized for all conference awards. "I am extremely proud of the student-athletes that were honored by our conference," exclaimed Head Coach Kellina Yarrish. "These student-athletes' have produced accolades in many areas of the field for us this season. Congratulations to all the student-athlete selections in our conference.”

Four Falcons were selected to the first-team All-Conference, including Alexx MIller, Cassandra Reijgers, Kiley Marone, and Amber Cieri. Alexis Domingo and Brice Gardner earned spots on the second-team, and Emily Demarest was selected to the All-Sportsmanship Team. 

Soccer received a total of thirteen student awards along with Head Coach Sarah Wolcott being named in 2019 Coach of the Year. This is Wolcott’s second consecutive year being selected for this honor by her peers. She is the first soccer coach from Cedar Crest to win this award. 

Daria Warner was named Player of the year due to breaking four school records including goals in season, points in season and career points. Defensive Player of the Year went to Sarah Nawrocki. Both of these awards are special because it’s the first time soccer players from Cedar Crest have received them. 

Warner and Nawrocki were both named to the first-team along with Adrianna Tennis and Brittney Dunleavy. Selected for the second-team all-conference is Kara Brownlie, Avery Huston, and Kaitlyn Kozdron. Lauren Makely, Kelsey Kehm, and Madison VanKirk were all named to the Honorable Mention Team.  Named to the Sportsmanship team is Kimberly Rosano. 

The Cedar Crest community congratulates all of the recipients of these awards, you make us proud!

1 view0 comments